Education Institution Sites

Educational Institutions


Australian Association For The Teaching Of English
AATE is the national arm of Australian state/territory associations for the teaching of English - all members of these organisations pay an affiliation fee to AATE, and are automatically members.

The Australian Curriculum, Assessment and Reporting Authority (ACARA) is the independent authority responsible for the development of a national curriculum, a national assessment program and a national data collection and reporting program for all Australian students.

The Australian Institute for Teaching and School Leadership (AITSL) has responsibility for national professional standards, driving professional development and working across jurisdictions and engaging with key professional bodies.

The Australian Professional Teachers Association (APTA) is a federation of state and territory joint councils of teacher professional associations representing over 120 000 teachers, from government and non-government schools within Australia.


The Board Of Studies NSW
The Board of Studies:

  • sets the core curriculum by developing syllabuses for Kindergarten to Year 12 and provides support materials for teachers and parents;
  • manages the NSW School Certificate external Tests (Year 10) and the Higher School Certificate Examinations (Year 12) each year;
  • assesses student achievement and awards high quality credentials to meet the needs of the full range of students;
  • promotes the provision of quality education by developing,communicating and implementing educational policies and practices;
  • provides advice on grading and assessment policy and procedures;
  • promotes the provision of quality education through the registration and accreditation of non-government schools, certifying that they may teach students and enter students for the examinations; and
  • effectively manages its resources so that educational objectives are met.

The Professional Teachers' Council NSW

The Professional Teachers' Council NSW (PTC NSW) is the peak body for professional teachers’ associations in NSW with 45 member associations.

The NSW Institue of Teachers
The Institute oversees a system of accreditation and recognition of teachers' professional capacity against professional standards in NSW.

The NSW Department of Education and Training
The department runs public education and training services in schools K-12 and TAFEs

Catholic Education Commission
The Commission provides leadership in Catholic education, through service to Dioceses, Religious Institutes and Parents. It functions through consultation with Diocesan Directors, Religious Institutes, Principal and Parent associations.
Systemic or Diocesan schools are administered by the 11 Catholic Dioceses (geographical Church entities) in NSW.

Association of Independent Schools NSW
The AIS is the peak representative body for independent schools in New South Wales.